Weekend of creativity

Arising last Thursday morning, the day promised a day of sunshine and a public holiday. This meant I wasn’t going into work. However, this public holiday does reminds me why I get the day off work. The reason is due to the sacrifice of others; in Australia, we have ANZAC day. A day to remember and reflect on the sacrifice of war veterans who served in the First and Second World War.

This also meant that my weekend had officially started; my mother came to visit and I had taken Friday off work to enjoy a long weekend of catch up and learning how to sew in a straight line.

Over the course of the weekend, mum joked that in the skills she taught me, sewing got missed. Turns out I’m not as bad as I thought.

Anyway, back to Thursday; the sun was shining the birds were singing, it could almost be the start of a story: “once upon a time, one sunny day a mother said to her daughter, today we’re going to make a dress.” And that’s exactly what we did!

We pulled out the sewing machine, blew off the dust and made some plans. Go for a walk, after that we go down to Spotlight, buy a pattern and cut out the material.

In all this, I discussed with mum the local markets I was going to next weekend where I was going to sell some cards I was in the process of making. Mum decided to appoint herself as my marketing director, and over the weekend, helped me create about 100 cards for me to sell. Thanks mum! With her help, we doubled the number of cards I was originally going to sell, and I’m very happy with the result!

After we had accomplished the plans for Thursday, we planned Friday: A day in the city enjoying a Hollywood Costume exhibition and shopping 😄. The Hollywood exhibition had some costumes from a lot of very well known movies over the years, including Audrey Hepburn’s dress she wore in Breakfast at Tiffany’s. So awesome! After that, we did some shopping and arrived home with new clothes and new equipment for card making.

Friday and Saturday consisted of card making; affixing photos to cards, and trimming where necessary and finishing off the dress. Okay, mum finished the dress I focused on the card making. The end results were both turned out amazingly well: I had a new dress to wear for Sunday and a stack of cards to sell on Saturday. I’ll be taking my camera on Saturday, so I can keep you posted on how it goes! We also pulled out the new BBQ that mum bought for us, and cooked a lamb roast with some of mum’s pea dish. Vegetables have never tasted better 😄.

On Sunday, we finished off the cards and did some cooking. Mum made a lasagne which was very yummy, it was nice to have my mum’s home cooked meals again, and I baked done cupcakes for a friends baby shower this weekend. My weekends are looking busy, with a couple of jobs to look forward to!

It was a highly productive weekend with awesome results.

20130502-174203.jpg

20130502-174353.jpg

Leave a Reply

