Kiwi Cupcakes

As mentioned in my Vodafest post, I felt inspired to create kiwi cupcakes from the blog http://theverybesttop10.com/2013/03/08/things-made-with-kiwifruit/ (originally sourced from http://www.flickr.com/photos/70915543@N02/6889722257/)

I did my very best, to replicate but it doesn’t quite look like the original image, and I couldn’t find the recipe this picture belongs to. So I made it up!

I did have fun making this, and I will be taking all the cupcakes into work because ironically, despite my love of baking, I cannot eat sugar without feeling sick. I did try one. About half before I thought, I just can’t finish this!

So, it was an original recipe; coconut and Midori cupcakes, with coconut buttercream icing decorated with kiwi fruit and chia seeds.

If you want the recipe, let me know. Despite not writing it down, I’m sure I can remember how to do it.

Enjoy!

Okay, as I have had some requests, I have decided to add the recipe to the post, so that you can make it! Sorry for not getting back to some people sooner; I have a baby, and I work so things have been very, very busy for me!

Here you go!

Coconut & Midori Cupcakes with Kiwi

Indgredients:

1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature

2/3 cup (130 grams) granulated white sugar

3 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 teaspoon Midori

A couple of drops of green food coloring

1 ½  cups (195 grams) all purpose flour

½ cup of desiccated coconut

1 ½  teaspoons baking powder

¼  teaspoon salt

¼  cup (60 ml) milk

Coconut & Midori Buttercream Frosting:

2 cups (230 grams) confectioners sugar (icing or powdered sugar), sifted

1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 teaspoon coconut essence

2 tablespoons milk or light cream

Kiwi & Chia seed toppers:

1 dozen kiwi fruit

Chia seeds

 

Method:

Vanilla Cupcakes: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees C) and line 12 muffin cups with paper liners.

  1. beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  2. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition – don’t overbeat.
  3. Beat in the vanilla extract, midori and green food colouring.
  4. In a separate bowl sift, flour, baking powder, and salt.
  5. Mix in coconut
  6. With the mixer on low speed, alternately add the flour mixture and milk, in three additions, beginning and ending with the flour. Scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed.
  7. Evenly fill the muffin cups with the batter and bake for about 17 – 20 minutes or just until set and a toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean. (Always check a few minutes before the stated baking time. Do not over bake or the cupcakes will be dry.)
  8. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool. Once the cupcakes have completely cooled, frost with icing. If you want flat topped cupcakes then slice off the dome of each cupcake, with a sharp knife, before frosting. If you want to pipe the frosting, I like to use a large star. Cupcakes are best eaten the same day they are made, but they can be covered and stored for a few days. I find it MUCH easier to frost a day after I have baked them, as they have had time to completely cool and not only that, they are less likely to crumble when frosting. Enjoy!


Confectioners (Buttercream) Frosting:

  1. In an electric mixer, or with a hand mixer, cream the butter until smooth and well blended.
  2. Add the vanilla extract.
  3. Add the coconut essence
  4. With the mixer on low speed, gradually beat in the sugar. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.
  5. Add the milk and beat on high speed until frosting is light and fluffy (about 3-4 minutes). Add a little more milk or sugar, if needed.
  6. Pipe frosting using a 1M star decorating tip

Kiwi & Chia Seeds Toppers

  1. Peel the kiwis of their skins
  2. Cut the kiwis into slices of medium thickness, making sure you have cut a straight edge for the kiwis at the bottom (they won’t sit on the cupcakes so well otherwise)
  3. Pipe frosting starting from the middle out.
  4. Display the kiwi fruit like a flower; start with the middle and use the slices as ‘petals’.
  5. Sprinkle some chia seeds over the top.
orig & rep
Left: Original Image
Right: Replicated Image
Okay so the position and lighting is different. Whatevs
Coconut & Midori cupcakes with coconut buttercream and kiwi!
Coconut & Midori cupcakes with coconut buttercream and kiwi!
Many many cupcakes! I hope work likes them!
Many many cupcakes! I hope work likes them!
6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I just updated my post because this is much better than having no recipe at all, and fair play they are 99% the same! Just the lighting on the images.

  2. Hi im a two months pregnant and really cravbing for this kiwi cupcakes! Please share your recipe if you dont mind! THnakyou somucvh! Im from philippines. 🙂

  3. hi thezse look so yummy we have loads of bags of kiwifruit and im looking for reciepes to make with them can u please send me recipe

  4. Hi! I saw your recipe for them and they look so cute and delicious! any way you could share the recipe? my bf is coming back from a trip and I want to surprise him with these! 🙂

Leave a Reply

