International Women’s Day

So in honor of International Women’s Day, I’d like to pay homage to some of the women in my life.
Mum: where do I start? The daughter of Italian immigrants, a teacher and hard worker. I wouldn’t be where I am today had my mum not pushed me; encouraged me to work hard, despite the challenges of raising a child with a disability. A strong woman, uncompromising and ridiculously stubborn. One who wasn’t afraid to be different and think differently – she’s one of my role models and I’m very blessed to have mother who would do anything for her children, even when it hurts.

My mother in law: I am very blessed to have such a loving and generous mother in law. When I first got married, and my mother was away for a year, she was a true help. She is such a godly woman; hospitable, generous and has such a gentle nature. She had the great ability of not taking herself too seriously and is one very classy lady.

Nonna: my maternal grandmother. A strong woman who moved to Australia from Italy, and raised a family in what was a very closed-minded society, at the time, about immigrants. She and my Nonno (grandfather – who had passed away) worked very hard, (farming) and raising two children, celebrating their Italian heritage. I’m proud to be her granddaughter.

Grandma: my paternal grandmother. One of the most sweetest ladies ever! She has a lot of love and very gentle nature to everyone she meets. Everyone in her family is special to her in their own way. She and my grandfather (who has also passed away) raised four very individual children, and each is the jewel of her eye. Again, I’m proud to be her granddaughter.

for someone who’s only sibling was a brother, these girls are like sisters to me.

Leesa: I’ve known Leesa for ever. I can’t remember not knowing her. She’s been there: through the good, the bad and the ugly. Leesa really helped me through some difficult times at school, and some of the stuff we got up to as kids!

Mary: I’ve known for most of my life. She is one of the few people where we pick up where we left off. Mary really introduced me to Christ, and it was because of her loving and generous nature that I met my husband. Thanks Mary, if you hadn’t invited me to church, I would have never met Phil.

Amy B: This girl means so much to me. She was my maid of honour at my wedding, and she’s one tough cookie. A single mum, and battling with whatever life throws at her. I look up to Amy a lot, she’s a really good friend, and I miss her so much since I’ve moved to Melbourne. There’s a special spot in my heart for her that no one else can fill.

Carris: my sister-in-law – so much fun to be around, and fun to go out and shopping with!

Olivia: my cousin – hard-working, and very strong-willed. Loves to party, we had some fun times growing up.

Jacqui:  I love this girl, she is so sweet and awesome; intuitive to people’s needs and someone who knows how to have a good time.

Luci: Love this girl to bits. She’s very unique, very creative and one of my closest friends.

Angie: Ah Angie. A mystery wrapped in an enigma lol. Madly in love with Justin Bieber (teehee) and with her video games. I seem to regress to when we were at school when I’m around Angie. We have fun together.

There are many other women that have made a difference in my life, and I’m grateful for the difference they’ve made (past and present friends) in my life.

The Women In my Life

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. I discovered your “International Women&” page and noticed you could have a lot more traffic. I have found that the key to running a website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get traffic from and they let you try it for free. I managed to get over 300 targetted visitors to day to my website. Check it out here: http://bag.sh/16M

Leave a Reply

